Important policy changes for Google Account storage

Dear Google User,
We are writing to let you know that we recently announced new storage policies for Google Accounts using Gmail<www.google.com/appserve/mkt/p/AD-FnEylKeV2cVAKQCNcNi05dKVl4pEBF7Nk48yw6magN5zTnHU133FQIVjFBUWB8xOc4SNyP8F41pFyZHA26HsNxjcheKv-ePM-diATwm6-cEVCcxIb>, Google Drive<www.google.com/appserve/mkt/p/AD-FnEz4bAtLxYzup6BkdTiG7-v6BPsgA9CMk7-Ppx5U5JsF7fzbiodYZalC-ENiFfiRlYXi9331syJgX3AB0aaXMfWQG7LsePxQFBooTbp8TC851Y7jdE1T> (including Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms, and Jamboard files) and/or Google Photos<www.google.com/appserve/mkt/p/AD-FnEwM5rfOFO9Ab16lY8YUDYnLGsQZDvHFqO2mYchdSCPSzos2t8FLw4gmncSAYFgIexgoVAn-cETQIpJUR9sF8DLxTncZKfXC9ebTDMWmzP5fTe7cLx_liM1eDg> that bring us in line with industry practices. Since you have previously used one or more of these products in your Google Account storage<www.google.com/appserve/mkt/p/AD-FnEz0ljjlPpBzBOnEQfiq_7mcES8h47AlmbaCEFz2Fa49l91N67XgU3OHlqUiADPd_ACfV0MpNwpGiWiBwn3MeEPaLC9vVUh4GuveO7TeXCFbBNN8g2vMo9YTbgJhpQBrfswH5Vw7DQjg8qGm9XZBzhw5BJvSHghwMWO…>, we wanted to tell you about the new policies well before they go into effect on June 1, 2021. Below is a summary of the new policies. Please reference our Help Center article<www.google.com/appserve/mkt/p/AD-FnEziqnlyebW9w3PpKgWEq_cS7mUHO21vX4jiq1aeJZNQrn47NdM_X8JI43mM7tTjQ8V_vS8Tc4FjH7a0PN1sOL1FSsbd7aAklAZdY4JSBFjFpZHf-XVb-XBtfeNrD8kqvr5axMBlzIfjHtku> for a complete list of what’s changing.
Summary of the new policies (effective June 1, 2021):
– If you’re inactive<www.google.com/appserve/mkt/p/AD-FnEzCPeZa8VFezdNcB2cSdDlGYVZmzx0AJ4Bpz1aNU0EBl5FTs3Qr-KOxcv_2yOsC_2U3mDeM7-tNJcE7CtIT6xO9b55yAqBpRAtOMduGrGqjjnfpQAv4k7vbL-xJXzRgDKPwy4cmCXiE9Q> for 2 years (24 months) in Gmail, Drive or Photos, we may delete the content in the product(s) in which you’re inactive. Google One<www.google.com/appserve/mkt/p/AD-FnEwKVPUQUYdFtQkfecAQMwfqv0Dpf8mtwPHfAsnvH4-tWG_09vV9P1eapGvNOImQ1J1jtJxOJ-JhanFWzPlyL04P4Fbn9fr33lZqQ-BRlRkvvWPsIIGUF_9WNbFw_0jLK7i4iXahsrlIFev1NI0zzMMj1OBR5w> members who are within their storage quota and in good-standing<www.google.com/appserve/mkt/p/AD-FnEzPRO1CNtUWmFkh7VogLiGlZz2PMZAdAFc9r5wvjtRU1BCjtPBVRBCH0xkUP2flnoJW8r7HCEBbP68P0Awc9iNf1efZog8d7LA2g6WLRHl3Y66Y6fRbRORMrPK-dike5INm2Bg> will not be impacted by this new inactive policy.
– If you exceed your storage limit for 2 years, we may delete your content across Gmail, Drive and Photos.
What this means for you:
– You won’t be impacted by these changes unless you’ve been inactive or over your storage limit for 2 years. As this policy goes into effect June 1, 2021, the earliest it would be enforced is June 1, 2023.
– After June 1, 2021, if you are either inactive or over your storage limit, we will send you email reminders and notifications in advance and prior to deleting any content.
– Even if you are either inactive or over your storage limit for one or more of these services and content is deleted, you will still be able to sign in.
– Note: The inactivity and over quota storage policies will apply only to consumer users of Google services. Google Workspace, G Suite for Education and G Suite for Nonprofits policies are not changing at this time, and admins should look to the Admin Help center<www.google.com/appserve/mkt/p/AD-FnEzbdcC10W51fIz2dRu_wH7KE0BQZEjYPB4CiOvdqmLl_qLcjcFFzyay7ti2f5gEVIKiky_yHpUF83eQFO5ZSTrrstEsuBXAUKqCybj5coTYxFqDdaoaM70eCltqpIY> for storage policies related to their subscriptions.
Learn more about how to keep your account active
– To learn more about how to remain active with these products, visit this Help Center page<www.google.com/appserve/mkt/p/AD-FnEzwM8bsNi7G1DNl83Uj-1Rx3WXLDh7amExSFnfB6tuAi-WPjxSpnCpHyMAsHTk_9sJxzdtTx8ADXrflhCWKNLamL9ayVqR93uXyjBy4OZe_4W7zgZl_BrLmMhIlYIBg8uSCJYkMbXgVCk12bM-RgCs0>.
– The Inactive Account Manager<www.google.com/appserve/mkt/p/AD-FnEwiBV4SbQFPhmHy19ftXpk7y_MmAxqbC3H7Ez7SDlvQ9Wi4yhtCUtIhiwxo_tNQ_NiZgrU_ExoGTz-iNEN6FZPVjX5NhmB2DPVYw3rQIjXCuRzMj3cs6wk8Wz4oikjmJDTSEPzW_w> can help you manage specific content and notify a trusted contact if you stop using your Google Account for a certain period of time (between 3-18 months). Note: the new 2 year inactive policy will apply regardless of your Inactive Account Manager settings. You can learn more about these changes and ways to manage your or a loved one’s account in our Help Center<www.google.com/appserve/mkt/p/AD-FnEweTEBqb1mtpKQT4cdebLwmBnP-JO9pNFVvn1wF-FuNKaAmI4haGZwJKYR0SQ1hSwGv3DaVQiziqrllqXMCBDEwc7c1x5ME5mShMsbFaauznrIVoKGIY77gDdEDgZtgtx8v5g>.
Learn how to manage your storage
– Learn more about the over quota policy<www.google.com/appserve/mkt/p/AD-FnExSTP0Dr3-x8bSOAzNnyAguto7YxRpWNUngSKnjG8rqjOPZHVkMdFgNO7qmpKqdQitUr_5r11-OitrqIomNtHv-t1jMv0yW0mxe5VG7Iq895FHUKC3mkwYepVYOhu57a7quwT4sP4TEoBcqVO7c0iZO5xw> and what counts against storage quota<www.google.com/appserve/mkt/p/AD-FnEwR3dCkDWn3dauDEgj1ww75jVW1_hLaxo2bOeiwZmufXtKdZpjL0ScCu0ogwBBnpKvXghXI02ePnp8LX8wDUSPGJBbuOI7wY5JaEJz9xG17SmVm49LVmFHrkONfB_GJc3k07e_l4w1q3b7Cyw>.
– You can use the free storage manager in the Google One app<www.google.com/appserve/mkt/p/AD-FnEysz0YQPt1DF6GAjp_xND0QetotJooeSgTQ_FVyGgKPg9mdLe9753lmobisu1jBXg7PL_qU_qUOyuaAX4BZa9WZlI9aw3KmyykZIShBJ3HrOuT95sExy-Z1cxmfh8cVy9_ZSYanqeVTMfb3nZziIGDcsyFadppfqTK…> and on the web<www.google.com/appserve/mkt/p/AD-FnEx-6KRB1DKITYkxTNeY7PGTx6G-5cc_2bPdEJC8wiD58Dnh9RG4gyZhWlryyBBwPyOUtiZB-T4NiFEnvtErx1Q2Gdjt-8IFaC2-gOZaUBczMpZC-zCo24PWhBJRgWC3-XfTa-lmKh08bKmweLdnkBqfAfDG-GJ9S_M…> to see how you’re using your Google Account storage, and free up space across Gmail, Google Drive, and Google Photos.
Thank you for using our services. Your Google Team
© 2020 Google LLC 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043
You have received this mandatory email announcement to update you about important information related to your Google Account.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *